Gardner Business Media

Hot Runner Technology OCT 2017

Gardner Research

Issue link: https://gbm.epubxp.com/i/878792

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 2 of 27

October 2017 1 HOT RUNNER TECHNOLOGY 2 From the Editors Be Proactive, Not Reactive Successfully selecting, integrating and maintaining hot runner systems demands proactive involvement from original equipment manufacturers, molders and mold builders. FEATURES 4 Six Key Factors for Evaluating a Hot Runner System Details matter when it comes to selecting and inte- grating a hot runner system. This guide makes that process easier by covering those details thoroughly. 8 Breaking Down Hot Runner Maintenance Improving a manifold's maintenance plan requires specific skills and knowledge of its functioning areas. 16 Switch to Hot Runners Pays Off for Pulley Molder Retlaw has cut scrap, improved part quality and slashed cycles since adopting hot runner technology. 20 Products PUBLISHERS Richard G. Kline, Jr. rkline2@gardnerweb.com Ryan Delahanty rdelahanty@gardnerweb.com EDITORS Christina Fuges cfuges@gardnerweb.com Jim Callari jcallari@ptonline.com Cyndi Kustush ckustush@gardnerweb.com Karen Cornelissen kcornelissen@moldmakingtechnology.com Tony Deligio tdeligio@ptonline.com Matthew H. Naitove mnaitove@ptonline.com ADVERTISING MANAGER Becky Helton bhelton@gardnerweb.com ART DIRECTOR Carla Turner cturner@gardnerweb.com About the cover: Image courtesy of Millennium Tool Inc. Proactive hot runner maintenance includes knowing how to properly and efficiently use equipment like the ohmmeter to measure and document the resistance levels of heaters and thermocouples. Larry Carpenter is a mold and die maintenance and repair technician at Millennium Tool (Louisville, Kentucky). He is one of 32 technicians who is charged with caring for a fleet of 1 , 200 tools at GE Appliances, 60 percent of which are injection molds with hot runner systems. The Hot Runner Maintenance and Repair Certification course at MoldTrax significantly advanced the skills of Millennium's team, saving the group time and reducing its overall costs. See the related story on page 8. C O N T E N T S O C T O B E R 2 0 1 7 8 16 Images courtesy of (left to right) the MoldTrax LLC and Retlaw Industries.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Gardner Business Media - Hot Runner Technology OCT 2017